547 Days

Jackson is knocking on the door of 18 months- that’s a whole year and a HALF (547 days… give or take. No math checkers please!) that he’s been in our lives.  I will admit there were days in there that I thought were never-ending, but looking back I can’t believe how fast its gone.  I’ve mentioned this before, but we did monthly photos of him on different fabric backgrounds (idea from Young House Love of course) (plus I happen to have a pretty great fabric selection at my fingertips from my mom’s quilt shop in Adel). For the first year I painted the number on his onesie, but since he turned 1 I’ve gotten all tech-savvy (not) and super-imposed the number on a white onesie.  Below are the first 12 (er, 11. I’m not sure where month 4 went but you get the picture) (Ha)

You can see that by month 12 it was just downright unbearable for him to lay on the ground for the pics, even with help from S dancing and dangling shiny and loud objects above my head.  Oh yeah, take a second and picture that. So starting with month 13 we changed it up and let him stand in front of the fabric draped against a wall.  He’s much happier standing/in motion so as long as I can snap one in focus before he runs off it’s been going much better.  It’s still a 2-person job, but it’s do-able.  Here are the next 5 months below (I haven’t gotten around to putting the numbers on some…. but again- you get the picture):

I think for the first 12 months we used just a yard of fabric comfortably. With the new set-up, we’re using a yard and a half and that barely covers it.  I was planning on just going for one year, but wasn’t quite ready to stop. I think after 2 for sure we’ll be done with the project and will go to some kind of yearly photo shoot.  We’ll see what YHL, I mean my own creative brain, comes up with.

Now I just need to figure out what I’m going to do with all this fabric!  I will probably repeat the pics for the twins since there is definitely enough to make three of decided things when all is said and done.  I have a romantic idea that I’ll make a quilt for each of them and finally make my mother proud of me (kidding mom, I know you think I’m a rock star, especially compared to the other siblings) (kidding! Geesh.), but for the sake of being realistic I should just pass it all on to her and let her make something that the kids will actually recognize as a quilt.  Maybe someday I’ll post what happened when I tried to knit… it ain’t pretty.

Randomness #1: Dad came up last night and measured for the window seat and is working like a happy little elf at home building away.  Or that’s how I choose to picture it.

Randomness #2: We had the Osmundsons over for the Super Bowl Sunday night and in usual Ozzer-Hill fashion, tons of food and fun.  At one point Seth yelled at us ladies to stop being geeks talking about recent reads (I think he heard me say “I’m happy he found his happiness” so I can’t really blame him) and something else HUGE happened.  Head over to Jamie at http://www.blogmundson.wordpress.com to see.

Leave a Reply

