Show me the money!

Seriously.  Show it to me.  Where does it go!?!  Seth and I just sat down and went through our September finances.  It was humbling. I’ll save the details but will share that I spent $150 at Starbucks.  $150.  At Starbucks.  That’s embarrassing.  And I don’t drink caffeine so I can’t even blame an addiction!   The worst part was the Target spend….. I cannot for the life of me figure out what I spent so much on at Target! I brag about how much I save there using the Red Card, Cartwheel, bringing my own bags, etc- but obviously need to take a step back and see what I’m losing by saving so much.  Yes, those are all great ways to save money. But when I go in there to get what’s on my Cartwheel list and leave with 54 other things it doesn’t really balance out.  So we are on a spending freeze until further notice.  Obviously the necessities aren’t going to suffer (I reallllly want some little mice for my new Halloween wreath…. is that a necessity??) but I need to at least think about things before I swipe that (Red) card.  The next step is, wait for it…. a cash diet. Ugh. That makes me want to throw up just thinking of it.  So I really need to get it together here!  This is my way of really committing. To all my loyal blog followers (both of you!): I am going to get by October on a necessity-only mind set.  Having said that, both of our birthdays are in October and we have something planned, and if we get a chance to get away from the kiddos for a night out H-YES we are going to do that.  This is more about Target and all her evil awesomess that sucks me in and takes my money and makes my husband see red (and not in the I’m-saving-5%-awesome red).

May the Force be with me.

3 thoughts on “Show me the money!

  1. Argh- good luck! Didn’t you do no-spend November last year? I could try to do that with you for accountability. I definitely need to chill with eating out and of course my beloved Target. 🙂

  2. What’s funny is like 1 day after this B said we needed to talk about budgets and then my mom said she & John had a budget talk. Must be something about October… We need to keep each other accountable.

  3. That’s funny, I wonder what it is about this time of year! So far it’s going well here. Seth & I text each other when we use the debit card to keep a mental tally and discuss the week on Sundays with our account pulled up online.

Leave a Reply

