Ain’t Nobody Got Time for That.

If you don’t get it, please please watch this.

If you do get it, go ahead and watch. It’s as funny as you remember.

Today I’m home with 2 sick boys- lucky me (sarcasm)!  They’re both currently napping- lucky me (no sarcasm)! With my glorious free time I did some prep work for dinner tonight. As I was chopping I decided that if I did ever get a show on Food Network it would be all about healthy wholesome meals you can prep the night before and throw together quickly right before eating.  Crockpots would also be popular on my show.  It would be called…wait for it… “Ain’t Nobody Got Time for That.” My sister summed it up perfectly- ain’t nobody got time for 20 ingredient recipes or diabetes from the junk that’s easy and quick to make. Easy Mac has its place (i.e. 2am after a night at Irena’s) but definitely is not OK too often.  And it’s so easy to get in a rut of ordering out because nobody has time or energy to cook, especially when you have a toddler who needs to eat NOW (we call this being hAngry). This is how I’ve been cooking for the past few months.  I either come home at lunch and prep or do it the night before.  Or order out.  Here are some favorites that work well with this method-

  • Stuffed acorn squash- cook the meat & veggies, stuff the peppers, put them in baking pans, cover with wrap and refrigerate until you’re home from work- then just throw them in the oven!
  • Moni Meals Quinoa Mac & Cheese (http://monimeals.com/meals/quinoa-mac-n-cheese/)-  I did the steps up until she actually bakes it, covered it a put it in the fridge.
  • Chili, obviously a crockpot favorite
  • Baked veggie pasta- cook the pasta, sautee the veggies, throw them together in a dish, cover and put it in the fridge.
  • Etc etc you get the idea.  Chop, cook, assemble, put in baking dish, cover, refrigerate. And why do I keep trying to add a “d” to refrigerate? RefriDgerate.  Refrigerate.  Anyway.

For tonight I’m making the Iowa Girl Eats kale pasta, AKA  “The Best Pasta Dish Ever” (http://iowagirleats.com/2012/10/23/the-best-pasta-dish-ever/). I measured out the kale & cranberries, chopped the onion & garlic (but waaaay less then she calls for. Calvin has a pretty sensitive tummy so I have to be careful there) and put those in separate baggies and bowls all back in the friDge, then just set out all the pans I’ll need.  It should be pretty easy tonight to throw it all together!  Plus with no knives needed I can let Jackson help out, which he just LOVES.  Even when it’s more “help” than actual help.

This also helps with that horrible “what’s for dinner tonight” argument that I know you all have too.  And helps with the old budget! It’s all about have a plan and working ahead to save time and money!

Now back to enjoying my glorious quiet house.

3 thoughts on “Ain’t Nobody Got Time for That.

  1. I need to get more planny with meals. This was actually another resolution that was thrown around. Planning a day of the week to plan the meals the following week. Because not planning a day ends up with it always being planned for “tomorrow”.

Leave a Reply

