The Final Countdown

I have been on the hunt for an Advent calendar for a few years now and have had terrible luck. This year my sister found a really cute one at Starbucks. I was excited because I always love a good reason to go to SBux and finally found a calendar I liked! However, all of my local SBux were sold out. Besides that, they were $50! I’m new to this whole Advent thing, but that seemed steep.

So I did decided to make one. After a quick run to Starbucks for inspiration I was ready to go.

I perused Pinterest for a while but didn’t find anything that jumped out at me. And I kept getting distracted by all the other pretty things and funny pictures of bunnies.  Anyway, I remembered these spice jars I bought from a friend who was moving and trying to get rid of her clutter a few years back. They’re those generic white canisters with a glass top and magnetic bottom. I had tons of ideas how to use them at first but nothing ever panned out and they sat in the garage for about a year until rescuing  25 of them for this project.  I warshed them up and started thinking hard.  Later that afternoon I ran to Hobby Lobby for some supplies (after a run to Starbucks for fuel, obvi)- a 2″ hole punch (the glass tops to the jars were just under 2″ and there was enough of the lip that 2″ fit perfectly in there), some Christmasssy scrapbook paper, a gold Sharpie, some Modge Podge, and something to stick them all to. At first I was thinking I could get a shadow box and put a metal sheet along the backside, but one big enough for all the canisters was $50!  Frig!  But I found this cute chalkboard/magnetic board duo that asked to come home with me.  It was $20, but I had a 40% coupon and figured even after Christmas I can use this in the house somewhere so it was worth it.

After the kids went to bed I got to work- it was surprisingly easy.  I cut out 2″ circles, Sharpied a number on them, Modge Podged them to the inside of the glass (after popping them all out and polishing them clean- that was probably the most work), and put them all on the board! I borrowed some of Jackson’s sidewalk chalk and printed a scrolly “Merry Christmas” up top with some pretties below to balance it all out and BAM Advent Calendar.

Advent3

Then I had to fill them.  2″ is small!  I didn’t want every day to have candy (helllllllo Toddler Monster) but it’s hard to find other small things! I ended up doing a mix of candy, stickers, tiny Christmas tree decorations, some mini Play Doh canisters (I’ll regret those later), and some random toys from the Dollar Spot at Target that were small enough.  I don’t like having lots of small things in the house with the babies so those are minimal and I’ll be able to pitch them after the initial excitement wears off and he’s not looking.  I found a website with daily Advent Bible verses but haven’t gotten around to printing those off… maybe today….

Advent1

I also bought some gold spray paint in case the white was too stark, but decided that would make them too glitzy so I returned it eventually and left them as they are. I likey. HOWEVER, with all those supplies it ended up being around $40! However however, it’s homemade and I hope that will mean something to the kids one day and be worth it.

Speaking of homemade, the next day Seth’s mom brought this over.

Advent2

I mean come on. I JUST made one!!  But she made this for Seth when he was little and he loved it as a kid, so I am happy to have it and Jackson has been loving picking out an ornament every day and sticking it on the tree.

So we went from 0 Advent Calendars to 2 Advent Calendars in a day. Apparently we like to increase things by 2’s here.

Hope you’re all enjoying the snow! At least if it’s going to be bitter cold we can enjoy the pretty snow, eh?

One thought on “The Final Countdown

Leave a Reply

